Analysis and Design of Switched-Mode Power Converters Using Discrete Time Modeling


Discrete time modeling of power electronics is a useful tool for small signal modeling and control design without requiring spectrum-limiting approximations. These same techniques are useful for the large signal, steady-state modeling and design optimization of power electronics. The modeling approach is general, accurate, and well-suited to numerical design optimization. This tutorial will review state space discrete time modeling of switching power converters with applications to steady-state and dynamic modeling and design optimization, ongoing efforts and resources being developed at the University of Tennessee, as well as application examples.


Daniel Costinett

Associate Professor,
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Daniel Costinett (Senior Member, IEEE) received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Colorado Boulder in 2013. He was an instructor at Utah State University in 2013. Since 2013, he has been with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK), where he is currently an Associate Professor. Dr. Costinett is Co-Director of Education and Diversity for the National Science Foundation/Department of Energy Engineering Research Center for Ultra-wide-area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks (CURENT). He has coauthored more than 150 peer-reviewed publications. His research interests include resonant and soft switching power converter design, high efficiency wired and wireless power supplies, on-chip power conversion, medical devices, and electric vehicles. Dr. Costinett was a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2017, the 2022 Richard M. Bass Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award, the 2016 and 2020 IEEE PELS Transactions Second Place Prize Paper Award, and the 2015 IEEE IAS William M. Portnoy Award. He received the 2022 Moses E. and Mayme Brooks Distinguished Professor Award, 2015 ECE Faculty of the Year Award, and 2020 Chancellor’s Award for Professional Promise in Research from UTK. He currently serves as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics.